Nedd, Anderson shortlisted for WI U-19 camp

—in preparation for tri nation series and 2020 U-19 WC

National Under – 19 Skipper Ashmead Nedd and Kevlon Anderson have been shortlisted to attend a West Indies Under – 19 Rising Stars training camp in Antigua from September 13-23.

The 10-day camp is geared towards preparation for the ICC Under-19 World Cup in South Africa in January 2020. 

Following the camp, a squad will then be selected to participate in the first ever tri-nation Under-19 Rising Stars One-Day International Series to be hosted in the Caribbean against England and Sri Lanka from December 6-21.

Twenty-one players have been selected by Cricket West Indies (CWI) for this camp, primarily based on performances in the West Indies Under-19 Rising Stars Championship held in Saint Vincent and The Grenadines. 

Kevlon Anderson

CWI have also included three players who played in July’s West Indies Under-17 Rising Stars Championship in Trinidad and Tobago. West Indies Under-19 Coach and CWI High Performance Manager, Graeme West said the training camp will be focused on crafting specific roles to deliver championship performances. 

“The ten-day camp will focus on getting the players to understand the game strategies required to win an ICC Under-19 World Cup,”  West was quoted as saying on Cricket West Indies website.

“We will be looking to establish player roles and the specific skills they will require to deliver winning performances, the skill work at the camp will be focused on producing greater consistency and efficiency for all situations.

“We will work through game scenarios to build greater game awareness and understanding. Additional practice matches will be played to assess the progress that has been made and the learning that took place at the trial matches in St. Vincent.

“It’s also important that we formulate team values which underpin the behaviour, mindset and performance of the squad on and off the field.

West Indies Rising Star Under 19 21-man camp squad: Kevlon Anderson, Daniel Beckford, Teddy Bishop (Under 17 player), Matthew Comerie, Matthew Forde, Elroy Francis, Leonardo Julien, Avinash Mahabirsingh, Nico Reifer, Matthew Patrick, Kirk McKenzie, Kimani Melius, Antonio Morris, Ashmead Nedd, Rivaldo Ramlogan, Jayden Seales, Ramon Simmonds, Che Simmons (Under 17 player), Nyeem Young, Jaden Leacock (Under 17 player), Mbeki Joseph (Stabroek Sports)